Saturday, December 12, 2009

UFC 107 Results

Preliminary Card

Welterweight bout: Kevin Burns vs. TJ Grant
Grant defeated Burns via TKO (strikes) at 4:57 of round 1.

Welterweight bout: DaMarques Johnson vs. Edgar Garcia
Johnson defeated Garcia via submission (triangle choke) at 4:03 of round 1.

Middleweight bout: Rousimar Palhares vs. Lucio Linhares
Palhares defeated Linhares via submission (heel hook) at 3:21 of round 2.

Welterweight bout: Johny Hendricks vs. Ricardo Funch
Hendricks defeated Funch via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-25).

Lightweight bout: Matt Wiman vs. Shane Nelson
Wiman defeated Nelson via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).

Catchweight bout (195 lbs): Alan Belcher vs. Wilson Gouveia
Belcher defeated Gouveia via TKO (strikes) at 3:03 of round 1.

Main Card

Heavyweight bout: Paul Buentello vs. Stefan Struve
Struve defeated Buentello via majority decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-28).

Lightweight bout: Kenny Florian vs. Clay Guida
Florian defeated Guida via submission (rear naked choke) at 2:19 of round 2.

Welterweight bout: Jon Fitch vs. Mike Pierce
Fitch defeated Pierce via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28).

Heavyweight bout: Frank Mir vs. Cheick Kongo
Mir defeated Kongo via technical submission (guillotine choke) at 1:12 of round 1.

Lightweight Championship bout: B.J. Penn (c) vs. Diego Sanchez
Penn defeated Sanchez via TKO (cut) at 2:37 of round 5 to retain the UFC Lightweight Championship.

Picture of the nasty cut on (WARNING GRAPHIC PIC) Diego Sanchez's forehead from BJ Penn head kick. (via @MMAKicks on Twitter).

Bonus awards

Fighters were awarded $65,000 bonuses.[7]

Fight of the Night: Alan Belcher vs. Wilson Gouveia
Knockout of the Night: TJ Grant
Submission of the Night: DaMarques Johnson

No comments: